Nike Kobe Venomenon 5

The Nike Kobe Venomenon 5 was on sale (yes again) and was 40% off so I couldn’t resist myself from getting it. All that was left was the Bright Crimson/Black/Tide Pool Blue US size 11 which just fit me. The size of the width is D which is medium but surprisingly it really fits me so I am wondering if Kobe Bryant has wide feet as well. I have about half an inch space length wise. I usually wear US size 10-11 and it fits quite well. The toe box has enough space and my feet don’t feel cramped. The width was almost perfect and I could feel how secure my heel and ankle are supported in the Venomenon 5. 
I previously has a pair of Nike Kobe V which is US size 10.5 and I really like it. At first I thought it was a bit hard and narrow but eventually it stretched very quickly. The Nike Kobe line is probably my second or third favourite basketball player line after Air Jordan and tie or after Allen Iverson’s. My favourite pair of basketball shoes usage-wise is my Reebok Iverson Answer 3. I wore them until I wore out all the grip on the soles. I wish I bought another pair when I saw them at the outlet for about $30.
So anyway, back to Kobe, I really like the Kobes. I played ball a lot less now but I really like how with the low-top Kobes I can wear them casually with jeans and play ball in them. Despite being low-top, the Kobes do protect your ankles with the supports that keep your heel in place. I play tennis, badminton, basketball and even hard surface 5,7 player football in my Kobe V. They work.
Nike Kobe Venomenon 5 has really good grip as I found out playing badminton which requires a lot of sudden movements of the feet covering the court. The Venomenon 5 also feel very secure in the air as I jumped up to hit some high ball and for smashes. One annoyance I found was that the shoelaces came off three times during 2 hours of badminton. It was probably because I didn’t tie a double knot, but I thought that is a detail Nike can work on. I had great shoelace designs from New Balance and Reebok shoes that make the shoelaces more secure. I thought the somewhat puffy shoelaces of Venomenon 5 have that feature as well but no.
Another thing I don’t like is how easy the Kobe logo on the sole wore off after just two hours of badminton. It’s gone. When I took off my Kobe Venomenon 5, it was completely rubbed out on both my shoes. Very disappointing. That’s just minor detail, actually that is very minor yet not done right as expected in a  pair of US$119 shoes (I got them for US$83 on sale).
Otherwise, I find the Nike Kobe Venomenon 5 a great pair of shoes so far. It’s secure, I feel protected all around, it fits great, it’s well balanced and has great grip on the hardwood. It also looks great and very eye catching if that’s what you want.
To rate the Nike Kobe Venomenon 5 out of five star, I give it 4 and a half stars out of five.
I will update on this as I wear this shoes for longer for a long-term and wear-and-tear review of Nike Kobe Venomenon 5.
Update
I finally played some basketball in my Kobe Venomenon 5. It was alright, I felt secure in them. However, my feet did feel sore at the end of the two hours session which we rotated to play. I think I played about an hour in total. I really like how they breath quite well with the fishnet mash material, much better than my leather Kobe V. As a comparison, my socks get all wet with sweat in my Kobe V but not in the Kobe Venomenon 5. My socks did get wet but they dried much faster due to the much better ventilation.
As for grip on the court, it was good, probably as good as my Kobe V. This I knew from playing badminton in them. There was no slip at all.
However, I wish there is more sole support. It’s not as bouncy as I like it. It’s nothing like the DMX from Reebok, it’s a little hard and I think that’s why the bottom of my feet got sore and tired at the end.
Afterward, I think I am going to rate it 4 stars out of five.
Leave a Reply

